

Spring 2020 Scholarship Newsletter

Letter from the Dean



Greetings, College of Communications Supporters!

We are pleased to announce this year's outstanding scholarship recipients within our four departments - Cinema and Television Arts; Communication Sciences and Disorders; Communications; and Human Communication Studies. Scholarship support makes the difference to many of our students who are now facing even more financial distress that potentially jeopardizes their ability to continue their education. Thanks to your commitment, our students have

the financial support to work toward their degrees and reach their goals of a successful future.

It is a monumental time for our college, our campus, and our nation. This year, the College of Communications has committed to the theme of "representation." Extending the ideals of our nation's founders, we believe that for representative democracy to work, people must not only be educated, but also be able and willing to participate in democratic processes made possible by the First Amendment and its protection of our basic freedoms.

Your support helps us actualize the college's commitment to representation and benefits our students immensely. To continue providing opportunities to current and future students, please contact Katie McGill, Executive Director of Development at <u>kmcgill@fullerton.edu</u> or visit: <u>http://communications.fullerton.edu/make_a_gift_now/</u>

Bey-Ling Sha, Ph.D., APR Dean

College of Communications Scholarships

Guadalupe Austin Scholarship Uy Do

Denise Harrison Integrity Award Derek Opina

Bergstrom Family Scholarship

Alexandra Chadwick David Johansen Kevin Nguyen Alyssa Tornel



Alexandra Chadwick



Kevin Nguyen



Uy Do



David Johansen



Derek Opina



Alyssa Tornel

Department of Cinema and Television Arts Scholarships

Entertainment Partners/Movie Magic Scholarship Ruta Ghibat

> Kathleen Taylor Scholarship Cara Lam

Hollywood Foreign Press Association Scholarship Alexandra LoCascio

Claire A. Vane Memorial Scholarship William Maurice-Africa



Ruta Ghibat



Cara Lam



Alexandra LoCascio



William Maurice-Africa

Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders Scholarships

Titan Shops/Titan Bookstore Scholarship Karen Rodriguez

California Scottish Rite Foundation Scholarship Jordan Halili Vanessa Silva NSSLHA Member Scholarship Molly Jimenez

Glyndon D. Riley Memorial Scholarship Christopher Treviño Daniel Valles



Jordan Halili



Molly Jimenez



Karen Rodriguez



Vanessa Silva



Christopher Treviño



Daniel Valles

James Alexander Scholarship Briana Munoz

Myles Atlas Memorial Scholarship Chau Le

Jay Berman Daily Titan Scholarship Jordan Mendoza Kim Pham

Titan Shops/Titan Bookstore ScholarshipPrafullit MediRhett RiveraJordan MurphyAlora Walker

Gary Granville Memorial Scholarship Jordan Mendoza

Ingrid and Jordan Smart Scholarship Karen Banuelos

Alfred and Louise Hewitt Journalism Fund Giselle Martinez

> **Terry Hynes Scholarship** Anthony Robledo

David Little Scholarship Anastasia Augustson

Miven Venture Partners Angelynne Vivar **Tom Pasqua Memorial Scholarship** Blake Mara

> **The Society of Professional Journalist Scholarship** Nylene Garcia

> Barbara K. Rickard-Riegle Broadcast Journalism Fund Samantha Aguilar

John Stewart Memorial Scholarship

Kimberly Cruz Stephanie Mejia Baylee Maust

Edgar P. Trotter Scholarship Ji Young An

Vikki Vargas/NBC4 Broadcast Journalism Scholarship Samantha Aguilar

Laura Min Brooks Comm Week Award Kadi Ali Tawni Nguyen

> **Tien Family Scholarship** Zulma Mazariegos Amaya

VJ Lovero Photojournalism Scholarship Michael Quintero

John and Jessie Maxwell Communications Scholarship

Kaylyn Alcaraz Ji Young An Anatasia Augustson **Karen Banuelos** Novia Baulisch Natalia Becerra Abby Buotte Alexandra Chadwick Kimberly Cruz Nikolaus Diehr Uy Do Melanie Ferrari Samuel Fife Jose Flores Brian Garcia Nylene Garcia Ruta Ghibat Gianna Gonzalez Amber Greene Sean Hamada MariaAngelica Hernandez

Edward Hornick Taylor Jackson Christina Kim **Crystal Landis** Chau Le Alexandra LoCascio Elisabeth Lundgren Blake Mara Sarah Marin Alexis Martinez **Giselle Martinez Baylee Maust** Zulma Mazariegos Amaya Camilla Mcfall Prafullit Medi Stephanie Mejia Julia Mitchell Alexander Muir Briana Munoz Jordan Murphy **Duong Nguyen**

Kevin Nguyen Cazmir Nishi Derek Opina Maricela Ortiz Michael Palmer Kim Pham Somer Piper Mackenzie Quinn Angel Ramirez **Rhett Rivera** Alan Robles Heather Solis Jeffrey Sweeney Alyssa Tornel Jessica Torres Jasmine Trefz **Stephanie Turcios** Angelynne Vivar Alora Walker Caitlin Williamson Zen Zielke



Samantha Aguilar



Kadi Ali



Ji Young An



Anastasia Augustson



Karen Banuelos



Novia Baulisch



Natalia Becerra



Alexandra Chadwick



Kimberly Cruz



Uy Do



Melanie Ferrari



Nylene Garcia



Ruta Ghibat



Edward Hornick





Alexandra LoCascio



Blake Mara



Sarah Marin



Giselle Martinez



Baylee Maust



Zulma Mazariegos Amaya



Prafullit Medi



Stephanie Mejia



Jordan Mendoza



Alexander Muir









Briana Munoz



Jordan Murphy



Tawni Nguyen



Kevin Nguyen



Cazmir Nishi



Derek Opina



Maricela Ortiz



Michael Palmer



Kim Pham



Mackenzie Quinn



Michael Quintero



Rhett Rivera



Anthony Robledo



Alan Robles



Alyssa Tornel



Angelynne Vivar



Alora Walker



Caitlin Williamson



Department of Human Communication Studies Scholarships

Titan Shops/Titan Bookstore Scholarship Daniel Keller-Wolf

Flocken Family Legacy for Graduate Students Jennifer Montgomery

> Lee Granell Memorial Scholarship Jared Burke

Bill Gudykunst Memorial Scholarship Leslie Klukas

Dr. John C. Reinard Forensics Scholarship Rodrigo Riviera

Philip J. Schreiner Memorial Scholarship Katy Gerber **Rich Wiseman Memorial Scholarship** Matthew Shin

HCOM Memorial Scholarship in memory of Herbert W. Booth, Seth Fessenden, and Wayne Brockriede David Johansen

Lucy Keele Travel Award Jared Burke Robert Montgomery Votrez White

Terry Giles Forensics Award Javier Hernandez

Guerin L. Butterworth Award Javier Hernandez Yardley Rosas



Katy Gerber



David Johansen



Leslie Klukas



Robert Montgomery



Matthew Shin