College of Communications


A democratic society in which people from all backgrounds use communication ethically and effectively to participate fully in civic discourse, building community, and enhancing social capital.


Preparing communicators to advance a democratic society by undertaking critical academic inquiry, serving the community, and engaging in ethical and professional practice across all communications industries and in related fields.

College History:

The School of Communications was formed in 1988 and became a College in 1999.  The College includes four departments: a Department of Communications, a Department of Human Communication Studies, a Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders, and a Department of Cinema and Television Arts. 

College of Communications HistoryPDF File