

Fall 2022 Scholarship Newsletter

Letter from the Dean



Greetings, College of Communications Supporters!

We are excited to share the 2022-2023 outstanding scholarship recipients within our four departments - Cinema and Television Arts; Communication Sciences and Disorders; Communications; and Human Communication Studies. Scholarship funding offers College of Communications students academic and co-curricular opportunities to support their goals of a college degree and a successful future.

For 2022, the College of Communications committed to the theme of "renewal." It's clear that, after years of continued uncertainties and upheavals in so many areas of our lives, we all need to find ways to renew both our commitments and ourselves.

Thanks to your commitment and generosity, our students have the financial support and encouragement to renew their goals and achieve their dreams.

If you have questions about any of the scholarships or wish to learn more about current initiatives in the College, please contact Katie McGill, Executive Director of Development, at 657-278-8231 or kmcgill@fullerton.edu.

Bey-Ling Sha, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA Dean

College of Communications Scholarships

Bergstrom Family Scholarship

Debbie Castillo

Tien Family Scholarship

Nataly Pugh

Denise Harrison Integrity Award

Diana Cansino

Guadalupe Austin Scholarship

Jacob Whitehouse

Lucio Villa Scholarship

Jennifer Perez

Mona A. Baset Scholarship

Brianna Sanchez

Viet Dzung Human Rights Scholarship

Geovanny Alcibia-Guzman



Diana Cansino



Nataly Pugh



Brianna Sanchez



Iacob Whitehouse

College of Communications Scholarships

John and Jessie Maxwell Communications Scholarship

Crystal Bender
Ivan Calderon
Liliana Carrillo
Haily Coleman-Poggi
Tyler Costa
Cheyenne Covington
Shantelle Cueva
Erika Esquivias Estrada
Vianey Gonzalez
Hannah Gutierrez

Caitlin Hay
Lucy Ho
Isla Huerta
Libby Hussung
Baheer Khan
My Ly
Zulma Mazariegos Amaya
Emily Melgar
Julia Mitchell
Kevin Montes

Briana Munoz
Karrin Parks
Daniella Perez
Marlen Sanchez Leon
Heather Solis
Emma Suarez
Nghi To
Andres Webster Cabrera
Jacob Whitehouse



Liliana Carillo



Tyler Costa



Erika Esquivias Estrada



Hannah Gutierrez



Lucy Ho



Heather Solis



Andres Webster Cabrera



Jacob Whitehouse

Department of Cinema and Television Arts Scholarships

Bergstrom Family Scholarship

Haily Coleman-Poggi Jacob Whitehouse

Linda Giffon Citron Scholarship

Josue Roberto Alvarez

Titan ShopsMia Verdugo

Hollywood Foreign Press Association Scholarship

Alyssa Kailey Gomez

Kathleen Taylor Scholarship

Amaya Valenzuela



Josue Roberto Alvarez



Alyssa Kailey Gomez



Amaya Valenzuela



Jacob Whitehouse

Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders Scholarships

Titan Shops/Titan Bookstore Scholarship Jenny Vu

California Scottish Rite Foundation Scholarship

Jordan Halili

Parveena Singh

NSSLHA Member Scholarship

Jasmine Trefz

Pay-It-Forward Scholarship

Sheila Matthew

Stance Member Scholarship

Ana Rubio

Glyndon D. Riley Memorial Scholarship

Marlain French

Doris and Michael Farinacci Scholarship

Jennifer Creamer



Jennifer Creamer



Marlain French



Jordan Halili



Sheila Matthew



Ana Rubio



Parveena Singh



Jasmine Trefz



Jenny Vu

Department of Communications Scholarships

Titan Shops/Titan Bookstore ScholarshipTyler Costa

Myles Atlas Memorial Scholarship Kevin Montes

Jay Berman Daily Titan Scholarship Jessica Choi

Gary Granville Memorial ScholarshipJessica Choi

Ingrid and Jordan Smart Scholarship Zulma Mazariegos Amaya

> Alfred and Louise Hewitt Journalism Fund Jon Buzdar

Terry Hynes Scholarship Ferry Baylon

David Little ScholarshipLibby Hussung

Miven Venture Partners My Ly

Tom Pasqua Memorial Scholarship Emily Melgar

The Society of
Professional Journalists Scholarship
Emily Melgar

Barbara K. Rickard-Riegle Broadcast Journalism Fund

Alexis Johnson-Fowlkes

John Stewart Memorial Scholarship

Andres Webster Cabrera Crystal Bender Anthony Bautista

Edgar P. Trotter Scholarship Precious A. Castellanos

Vikki Vargas/NBC4
Broadcast Journalism Scholarship
Alexis Johnson-Fowlkes

Laura Min Brooks Comm Week Award

Arielle Berman Dina Saad

VJ Lovero
Photojournalism Scholarship
Geovanny Alcibia-Guzman

Echeveste Family ScholarshipAlexis De La Cruz

Chris Dufresne Sports Journalism Scholarship Briana Munoz

Department of Communications Scholarships



Ferry Baylon



Arielle Berman



Anthony Bautista



Jon Buzdar



Jessica Choi



Alexis Johnson-Fowlkes



Dina Saad

Department of Human Communication Studies Scholarships

Lee Granell Memorial Scholarship

Brayan Loayza

Liam Ryals

Dr. John C. Reinard Forensics Scholarship

Victoria Jackson

Philip J. Schreiner Memorial Scholarship

Paulina Romero Estupinan

Richard Wiseman Memorial Scholarship

Ashley Young

HCOM Memorial Scholarship in memory of Herbert W. Booth,

Seth Fessenden, and Wayne Brockriede Luis Bustos **HCOM Memorial Scholarship**

Nathaniel Garcia

Lucy M. Keele Debate Scholarship

Max Wiessner

Lucy M. Keele Travel Scholarship

Liam Ryals Max Wiessner

Guerin L. Butterworth Travel Award

Brayan Loayza

Vontrez White

Titan Shops/
Titan Bookstore Scholarship

Luis Bustos

Forensics Scholarship

Andrea Delgado Timothy Gonzalez Victoria Jackson Brayan Loayza

Bryan Perez Liam Ryals Roy Sahachiasere



Paulina Romero Estupinan



Nathaniel Garcia



Ashley Young

If you have questions about any of the scholarships or wish to learn more about current initiatives in the College, please contact Katie McGill, Executive Director of Development, at 657-278-8231 or kmcgill@fullerton.edu.

Thank you for supporting students in the College of Communications!