Dean Kazoleas

Director Dean Kazoleas, Ph.D. APR 


The Director of the Maxwell Center for International Communications is Dr. Dean Kazoleas. Dr. Kazoleas holds undergraduate and masters degrees in communications from Arizona State University and a Ph.D. from Michigan State University. As a professor of public relations in the Department of Communications at Cal State University Fullerton, Dean specializes in the areas of campaigns, crisis communications and international public relations. With over 25 years of teaching experience Dr. Kazoleas has also held faculty positions at Illinois State University, and West Virginia University.

Internationally Dr. Kazoleas has taught and developed programs with the CETYS University in Ensenada, Mexico, Dong-Ah Institute for Media and the Arts (DIMA) in South Korea, at Salzburg College in Salzburg Austria, at Shenyang City University (SYCU) Shenyang China, and at the Norgedmarkedhoyskole/BI in Oslo Norway. Additionally in 2007 Dr. Kazoleas served as a Fulbright Senior Specialist and assisted in developing a new organizational communications and journalism program at the Universidad Argentinas de San Juan in Argentina. In 2011 Dr. Kazoleas also began a program developing faculty and student exchange with the University of Havana, in Havana, Cuba, and brought 10 journalists,f aculty and administrators to California State University, Fullerton for a journalism workship in December 2014. This workshop was the first of its kind and was funded by the Knight Foundation.

As a scholar Dr. Kazoleas has authored over 20 articles and book chapters in the areas of public relations, communications, and social influence. Finally, Dr. Kazoleas has extensive experience as a communications and public relations consultant and has worked with over 50 companies and organizations on a wide variety of projects. As a public relations professional he also holds APR accreditation status from the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA), has served as a President of the Central Illinois Chapter, Midwest District Chair, and as Chair of PRSA's Educators Academy.