Department Of Human Communication Studies

GRADUATE FACULTY

Office: CP-420-1 | Phone: (657) 278-3617

See the directory for more information.

 

 Claudia Anguiano  

Claudia Anguiano, Assistant Professor

B.A., . . . .

Areas of Specialization: 

Phone:  (657) 278-3579  Email:  canguiano@fullerton.edu 

Jon Bruschke  

Jon Bruschke, Professor

B.A., M.A. California State University, Fullerton; Ph.D., University of Utah

Areas of specialization: Argumentation, forensics.

Phone: (657) 278-3272  Email: jbruschke@fullerton.edu 

K. Jeanine Congalton  

K. Jeanine Congalton, Associate Professor

B.S., Illinois State University; M.A., North Dakota State University; Ph.D., University of Utah

Areas of specialization: Rhetorical theory and criticism, argumentation, forensics.

Phone: (657) 278-3575 Email: kcongalton@fullerton.edu 

 Tenzin dorjee

 

 

Tenzin Dorjee, Associate Professor

B.A., Punjab University, Chandigarh, India; B.A., M.A., California State University, Long Beach; Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara.

Areas of specialization:Intergroup-intercultural-interpersonal communication, communication theory,Tibetan identity and culture,peace building and conflict resolution, and translation.

Phone: (657) 278-3894 Email: tdorjee@fullerton.edu

   

Robert A. Emry, Professor Emeritus

B.S., M.A., University of South Dakota; Ph.D., University of Kansas

Areas of specialization: Interpersonal communication, intercultural communication, communication and disability.

Phone: (657) 278-3617 Email: remry@fullerton.edu 

Robert Gass  

Robert H. Gass, Professor

B.S., California State Polytechnic University, Pomona; M.A., California State University, Fullerton; Ph.D., University of Kansas

Areas of specialization: Argumentation, persuasion, compliance-gaining.

Phone: (657) 278-3269 Email: rgass@fullerton.edu 

Javette Hayes  

Javette G. Hayes, Associate Professor

B.A. William Jewell College; M.A. Illinois State University; Ph.D., Northwestern University

Areas of specialization: Interpersonal communication, close relationships, emotions, methods.

Phone: (657) 278-2954 Email: jhayes@fullerton.edu 

 Zac Johnson  

Zac Johnson, Assistant Professor

B.A., University of Tennessee; M.A., University of Tennessee; Ph.D., West Virginia University

Areas of Specialization: Instructional Communication, Leadership, Sport Communication.

Phone:  (657) 278-3104  Email:  zjohnson@fullerton.edu  

Patty Malone  

Patty Malone, Associate Professor 

B.A., California State University, Sacramento; M.A., University of Southern Mississippi; Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin

Areas of specialization: Organizational communication, organizational conflict.

Phone: (657) 278-3273 Email: pmalone@fullerton.edu 

Martin Summer

 

Summer Martin, Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of Illinois, champaign-urbana

Areas of specialization:Health communication and interpersonal communication.

Phone: (657) 278-4197 Email: sumartin@fullerton.

Irene Matz  

Irene Matz, Associate Professor

B.A., M.A. California State University, Fullerton; Ph.D., Claremont Graduate University

Areas of specialization: Organizational communication, leadership, crisis communication.

Phone: (657) 278-4418 Email: imatz@fullerton.edu 

   

John C. Reinard, Professor Emeritus

B.A., M.A., California State University, Fullerton; Ph.D., University of Southern California

Areas of specialization: Persuasion, argumentation, methods.

Phone: (657) 278-7176 Email: jreinard@fullerton.edu 

Gary Rudd  

Gary L. Ruud, Associate Professor and Chair

B.A., M.A., San Jose State University; Ph.D., University of Washington

Areas of specialization: Organizational communication, training.

Phone: (657) 278-4198 Email: gruud@fullerton.edu 

   

Alyssa Samek, Assistant Professor

B.A., . . .

Areas of Specialization:

Phone:  (657) 278-3482  Email:  asamek@fullerton.edu

 Daniel Sutko  

Daniel Sutko, Assistant Professor

B.A. Davidson College; M.S., North Carolina State University; Ph.D., North Carolina State University

Areas of Specialization: Digital media studies, critical-cultural theory, communication technologies.

Phone:  (657) 278-4198  Email:  dsutko@fullerton.edu

 Suwinyattichaiporn, Tara  

Tara Suwinyattichaiporn, Assistant Professor

B.A., Assumption University, Bangkok; M.A., California State University, Los Angeles; Ph.D. Arizona State University

Areas of specialization:  Quantitative research methods, interpersonal communication.

Phone:  (657) 278-3851  Email:  tsuwinyattichaiporn@fullerton.edu

Stella Ting-Toomey  

Stella Ting-Toomey, Professor

B.A., M.A., University of Iowa; Ph.D., University of Washington

Areas of specialization: Interpersonal and intercultural communication, conflict.

Phone: (657) 278-3691 Email: sting@fullerton.edu 

Jason J. Teven  

Jason J. Teven, Professor

B.A., Carroll College (WI); M.A., Illinois State University; Ed.D., West Virginia University

Areas of specialization: Persuasion/Social Influence, Instructional Communication, Interpersonal/Family Communication

Phone: (657) 278-4755 Email: jteven@fullerton.edu 

Erika Thomas  

Erika Thomas, Assistant Professor

B.A., John Carroll University; M.A., Miami University; Ph.D., Wayne State University

Areas of specialization: Rhetorical theory and criticism, critical/cultural studies, argumentation, forensics (Queer Studies affiliate faculty)

Phone: (657) 278-8319 Email: erthomas@fullerton.edu 

 Kristofer Brock  

Kristofer Brock, Assistant Professor 

B.S., University of Pacific; M.S., University of Pacific; Ph.D. Texas Tech University

Areas of Specialization: Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC), Neuroanatomy.

Phone:  (657) 278-3108  Email:  krbrock@fullerton.edu  

 Michael J. Davis  

Michael J. Davis, Associate Professor

B.S., Utah State University, Logan; M.S., Utah State University, Logan; PhD., Wayne State University, Detroit

Areas of specialization: Audiology, hearing aids, private practice.

Phone:  (657) 278-3576  midavis@fullerton.edu

 Minjung Kim  

Minjung Kim, Associate Professor 

B.S. and M.A., Korea University, Seoul, Korea; Ph.D., University of Washington, Seattle

Areas of specialization: speech sound development and disorder

Phone: (657) 278-3927  Email: minjungk@fullerton.edu

 Kurt P. Kitselman  

Kurt P. Kitselman, Professor 

B.S. University of California, Irvine; M.A, California State University, Fullerton; Ph.D. University of California, Santa Barbara and San Francisco

Areas of Specialization:  Neurological bases of speech, language, cognition, and swallowing; assessment, diagnosis, and management of dysphagia.

Phone: (657) 278-3530; Email: kkitselman@fullerton.edu

 Terry Irvine Saenz  

Terry Irvine Saenz, Professor, Credential Coordinator

B.A., U.C.L.A.; M.A., University of Denver; Ph.D., Temple University

Areas of specialization: bilingual/bicultural communicative disorders with an emphasis on Spanish, child language disorders, communicative disorders in the public schools

Phone: (657) 278-3823, tsaenz@fullerton.edu

 HyeKyeung Seung  

HyeKyeung Seung, Professor, CD Program Coordinator

B.A., Korean University; M.A., Seoul National University, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Areas of specialization: language development in children with developmental disabilities including autism; early identification of autism; intervention outcomes of autism.

Phone: (657) 278-7175    Email: hseung@fullerton.edu

 Ying-Chiao Tsao  

Ying-Chiao Tsao, Associate Professor, Graduate Advisor

B.S., Fu-Jen University, Taipei, Taiwan; M.A., Ohio State University, Columbus, OH; Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison, WI.

Areas of specialization: speech motor control, fluency disorders, and equitable services to diverse population.

Phone: (657) 278-5307; Email: ytsao@fullerton.edu

 Kenneth Tom  

 Kenneth Tom, Associate Professor

A.B., University of California Berkeley; B. Music, New England Conservatory of Music; M.A. San Diego State University; Ph.D., University of Iowa.

Areas of specialization:  Voice and speech production, laryngeal function and aerodynamics, voice training and therapy, acoustic and physiologic phonetics. 

Phone: (657) 278-3274  Email: ktom@fullerton.edu

 Phil-Weir-Mayta  

Phil Weir-Mayta, Assistant Professor

B.A., . . . .

Areas of Specialization:

Phone:  (657) 2787176  Email:  pweir-mayta@fullerton.edu

 Toya A. Wyatt  

  Toya A. Wyatt, Professor

B.S., Northwestern University; M. A., Northwestern University; Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

Areas of specialization:  Child language development with specialization in children from diverse language and dialect backgrounds; Delivery of services to children, adults and families from culturally-linguistically diverse communities.

Phone:  (657) 278-3825      Email:  twyatt@fullerton.edu

Where applicable, “no profile” images provided by David Fettig are available on his Picassa page.